What is the meaning of OM?

Heard in temples, yoga studios, households, even television and movies, the chanting and symbol of Om is familiar to most of us.

While it’s synonymous to meditation, and seen simply as a doorway to tranquility for yogic practitioners, the true meaning of Om is deeply embedded in Hindu philosophy and to comprehend its truly profound effects one must have a basic understanding of sound.

Meaning and intro

It is considered AUM (OM) which represents the three aspects of Hindu Gods: Lord Brahma (A), Lord Vishnu (U) and Lord Shiva (M).

The “AUM” symbol symbolizes the Universe and the ultimate reality. It is considered to be one of the most important Hindu symbol.

The three letters of AUM (OM) represents three vibrations inherent in creation of the universe.
“A (Akaar)” which represents the vibration that brings into manifestation the created universe.
“U (Ukaar)” that represents the vibration that preserves or nurture the creation.
“M (Makaar)” which represents the destructive vibration that dissolves the manifested universe back into the Infinite Spirit.

Traditionally in India, Aum is chanted three times. Generally it is to invoke the blessings to the three universes - physical, astral, causals

The syllable Om is also referred to as Omkara and Pranava.

Omkara- Omkara is a term used for "OM" which means "Om Maker".

Pranava means Power,and is chanted as a Mantra which means both controller of like force - Prana and the life-giver - Infuser of Prana

Significance of OM

It relfects the image of lord Ganesha
It is said that the physical form of Lord Ganesha is that of OM.

The Symbol of Om is a reflection of the Mind's journey. The Curves of the OM signifies the State of Mind where as the Curves at the bottom means "Jagratha" or the Walking State.
The one in the center is related to the "Swapna" also called the Dream State and "Sushupti" meaning Deep Sleep is the the Curve at the Top.
the semi-circle on top represents “Maya,” which is basically an illusion or obstacle that keeps us from reaching “Turiya,” or transcendence

It also represents the three “gunas”, or qualities, found in nature. These include Sattva (harmony), Rajas (movement), and Tamas (inertia).

Back to blog